Institution: University of Michigan
Duration of Fellowship: 1 year (funded as Lecturer in Surgery)
Number of Available Fellowship Positions: 1
Program Director:
Program Director Email:
Paul G. Gauger, MD
Secondary Contact Name:
Secondary Contact Title:
Secondary Contact Email:
Kristen Brasington
Administrative Assistant
Address/Phone: 2920D Taubman Center
1500 E. Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5331

Phone: 734-936-0231
Fax: 734-936-5830
Objectives of the Program: The Norman W. Thompson Fellowship in Endocrine Surgery is designed to develop special interest and expertise in the clinical care of endocrine surgery problems. The fellow must be well-trained in general surgery and eligible for American Board of Surgery certification. The goal of the fellowship is to facilitate the graded transition of the trainee to an independent endocrine surgeon who is confident in the management of patients with the full variety of endocrine surgical problems. Opportunities to contribute to the field through clinical research are also provided and encouraged.
Highlights of the Fellowship: The Division of Endocrine Surgery is the oldest dedicated endocrine surgical unit in the country. The group performs over 600 cervical endocrine operations, 20-40 endocrine pancreas operations, and >75 adrenal operations each year. The Thompson fellow begins the year learning management and technical principles with the endocrine surgical faculty in both the clinic and operating room. A graded progression of increased independent responsibility occurs throughout the year. The year also includes exposure to outpatient clinical care, endocrine pathology, radiology and nuclear medicine, and intraoperative parathyroid hormone monitoring. Extensive skills with cervical ultrasound and laryngoscopy will be developed.
International Medical Graduates: We consider international applicants. The institution supports J-1 visas with few exceptions. H1-B visas only accepted by prior approval.
Special Considerations: Successful applicant must meet criteria for unrestricted medical license in the State of Michigan and credentialing as a Lecturer in Surgery at the University of Michigan,4601,7-154-72600_72603_27529_27541---,00.html
Program website for More Information:
Program Twitter Account:
Program Facebook:
Previous Fellows: Barbara Miller 2005-2006
University of Michigan

Eunice Cho 2006-2007
Kent, Washington

Brian Saunders 2007-2008
Penn State Hershey Medical Center

James Broome 2008-2009
St. Thomas, Nashville

David Hughes 2009-2010
University of Michigan

Amanda Laird 2010-2011
Montefiore Medical Center

Amy Fox 2011-2012
St. Paul, Minnesota

Paul Park 2012-2013
Raleigh, North Carolina

Meredith Sorensen 2013-2014
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Travis Cotton 2014-2015
Brown University, Rhode Island Hospital

Alex Cardenas 2015-2016
Reno, NV

Roy Lirov 2016-2017
Norman W. Thompson Fellow